Supnaa: Dreams of our Fathers - Part of FORMAT International Photography Festival

Free entry

Date

16 Mar 2024 - 6 Apr 2024

12pm - 4pm

Contact details

Image for Derby Arboretum
Derby Arboretum
Arboretum Square
Derby
DE23 8FZ

View on map

01332 290606 Visit website

Description

How do you tell the story of those who gave you life?

Anand Chhabra’s series attempts to tell the story of his parent’s and their migration from India to the UK c1960s–to present day, and their hopes of a ‘new life’ together with early Punjabi migrants who arrived ‘en masse’ to the UK. This is a subject that remains largely untold photographically.

Their formative years in the Black Country and the Midlands is my particular focus, as they arrived during tensions and protests around mass migration which were heightened largely by white working classes who were empowered by infamous MPs such as Enoch Powell (Wolverhampton) & Pete Griffiths (Smethwick). The series comprises of images that are connected specifically to his parents’ story that sit in four categories: family photos, portraits (people connected to them), ephemera and conceptual images that aren’t always instantly recognisable but nevertheless are laden with meaning, much like dreamscapes.

Together these photographs attempt to describe the people, family, their desires to work hard, the changing culture of the decades and their personal hopes, dreams and faith.

www.bcva.info

Arboretum Park Orangery

12pm – 4pm on the following days:

Saturday 16 March

Sunday 17 March

Thursday 21 March

Friday 22 March

Saturday 23 March

Thursday 28 March

Friday 29 March

Sunday 31 March

Thursday 4 April

Friday 5 April

Saturday 6 April

 

Recently viewed

Disclaimer: The event details on this website are sourced from event organisers, advertisers, and partners of Visit Derby. We strive to maintain the accuracy and reliability of this information. As we cannot accept responsibility for any errors or omissions, we strongly recommend that you verify all event information directly with the event host or facilitator before making any bookings or plans.