Chaddesden has a rich history and was mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1085 under the name of Cedesdene. This famous publication recorded at the time that 'Chaddesden extended for four and a half times as much land as can be ploughed by a team of oxen in a session'.
Chaddesden Park is the remnant of one of the few country estate parks, which came into local authority ownership between the two world wars. It dates back to the sixteenth century when the Wilmot family, wealthy Derby drapers, bought a freehold estate and built a house there next to the Parish Church of St Mary the Virgin. The original house was replaced around 1726 with a new brick Hall, probably designed by Richard Jackson who also designed Derby Guildhall. The Hall was rebuilt again around 1785.
Chaddesden Park has been a popular open space for the community for over 70 years. The brook and water play area, which has recently replaced the paddling pool, are favourite spots. The bluebells and cherry trees in the spring make the park even more picturesque.
The landscape that we see today is what remains of the former grounds of Chaddesden Hall. Built remains of the actual Hall are few, but the vegetation and in particular the trees, can still be seen and are witness to the managed parkland landscape of the Hall. Close to the old Hall site are many old specimens, such as Yew, Sweet Chestnut, Holm Oak and a particularly fine example of Cedar of Lebanon.
The park is also an important place for the community - with a popular café, youth shelters, and lots of events put on by the Friends Group.
Sports facilities include:
- BMX track
- Bowling greens
- Cricket pitch
- Orienteering course
- Football Pitches
- 5-a-side football
- Crown green bowling
- Sports courts
GREEN FLAG AWARD WINNER 2013
PLEASE REMEMBER TO FOLLOW SOCIAL DISTANCING GUIDELINES AT ALL TIMES WHEN VISITING OUR PARKS